Media release

Publication of draft industry codes

Next steps for industry development of Consolidated Industry Codes of Practice for the Online Industry, Phase 1

(class 1A and class 1B material)

Thursday, 23 February 2023

Six associations representing the online industry in Australia (listed below) are issuing an update on the development of the Consolidated Industry Codes of Practice for the Online Industry, Phase 1 (class 1A and class 1B material), including making the most recent drafts of the codes, that were submitted for registration to the Office of eSafety Commissioner, publicly available. 

Background on code development process
Development of the draft codes involved over 14 months of extensive work with a broad range of industry participants, community stakeholders and eSafety. The drafts were informed by input from eSafety; including through its September 2021 Position Paper, research into community attitudes, industry working groups, and expert consultation. 

Key milestones in code development

  • September 2021 – September 2022
      • Industry working groups were opened to any industry participant in the eight sections of the online industry for participation (listed below). 
      • The first drafts of the codes were shared with eSafety on 14 February, 2022. 
      • Ongoing consultation between industry associations and eSafety undertaken to inform an updated set of drafts released for public consultation.
  • September 2022 / October 2022 
  • November 2022
  • February 2023

Next stages of code development process
While the associations have made the drafts submitted for registration publicly available, these codes will be further updated to address the feedback from eSafety that was received through the letters on 9 February. 

Industry associations are working toward the 9 March deadline and have requested a short extension to allow for further public consultation on the revised codes.

A spokesperson for the steering group of six associations, said: 

“Industry is in the process of reviewing and addressing the recent feedback from the eSafety Commissioner. We will continue to closely collaborate with the Office of the eSafety Commissioner to finalise the codes and reach the best possible outcome for the community.”

Background on the codes
The Online Safety Act 2021 (Act), which came into effect in January 2022, requires the development of codes by industry associations to regulate certain types of harmful online material, known as Class 1A and 1B material with reference to Australia’s classification scheme. This includes material promoting child sexual abuse, terrorism, extreme crime and violence, crime and violence, and drug-related content.

The draft codes cover participants across eight key sections of the online industry specified in the Act: providers of social media, messaging, search engine and app distribution services, internet and hosting service providers, manufacturers and suppliers of any equipment that connects to the internet, and operators of all websites that can be accessed by Australian users.


Media enquiries should be directed to

The draft codes, further documentation, and more information on the completed public consultation is available at 

About the industry associations

The Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association (AMTA) ( is the peak body and trusted voice of the mobile telecommunications industry in Australia. Its members span telecommunications carriers, network vendors, infrastructure providers, handset manufacturers and various other smaller providers. Its mission is to promote an environmentally, socially and economically sustainable mobile telecommunications industry in Australia.

BSA | The Software Alliance (BSA) ( is the leading advocate for the global software industry. Its members are among the world’s most innovative companies, creating software solutions that help businesses of all sizes in every part of the economy to modernise and grow. With headquarters in Washington, DC, and operations in more than 30 countries, BSA advocates for public policies that foster technology innovation and drive growth in the digital economy.

Communications Alliance ( is the primary communications industry body in Australia, representing carriers, carriage and internet service providers, content providers, platform providers, equipment vendors, IT companies, consultants and business groups. The prime mission of Communications Alliance is to create a co-operative stakeholder environment that allows the industry to take the lead on initiatives which grow the Australian communications industry, enhance the connectivity of all Australians and foster the highest standards of business behaviour.

The Consumer Electronics Suppliers Association (CESA) ( provides a united forum and voice for suppliers of consumer appliances to focus on regulatory, technical and commercial issues that affect the capacity of member companies to supply products in the Australian market.

The Digital Industry Group Inc. (DIGI) ( is a non-profit industry association that advocates for the interests of the digital industry in Australia. DIGI’s vision is a thriving Australian digitally-enabled economy that fosters innovation, a growing selection of digital products and services, and where online safety and privacy are protected.

The Interactive Games & Entertainment Association (IGEA) ( is the industry association representing and advocating for the video games industry in Australia, including the developers, publishers and distributors of video games, as well as the makers of the most popular gaming platforms, consoles and devices. IGEA has over a hundred members, from emerging local game development studios to some of the largest technology companies in the world.

Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association

BSA | The Software Alliance

Communications Alliance

DIGI logo

Consumer Electronics Suppliers Association

DIGI logo

Digital Industry Group Inc

Interactive Games and Entertainment Association